walk 6: morning

labyrinthshell

Last night, I began surfing the web for Labyrinth information and discovered the Labyrinth Society at https://labyrinthsociety.org/ and the 365 Club, composed of those of  who pledge 365 days. I wrote to the Club, of course. The Society is also gathering empirical evidence on the benefits of the Labyrinth.

June 23 Walk 6:  I was going to be early for work, but I knew I would probably not get to the labyrinth later this evening, so I stopped on the way to work.  The sun on the other side. Dew on the weeds. A yellow leaf. Wet wood chips.  Little mushrooms.  The surprise turn right before I think I am at the center, and equally surprising right when I leave.  No time to sit and reflect, but in the car, I notice my breath is full, my heart is swelling in my chest, as if I have done a nice yoga class. When I get to work and turn on the lights in my windowless office, the light seems so bright, and when I have my first meeting, I feel lightheaded, but clear.

A student who came in to see me today told me that people don’t undertand why she is joyful–that they don’t understand that joy can come from her belief in God.

Leave a Reply

